Sargasso – Class, Service and Atmosphere

By: Andrea Sauer

Happy April Fool’s Day!!! Alright it’s out of my system now…the rest of this post is no joke…

A trend I am starting to sense with this week’s posts for our Morgantown Up-Scale dining week is that we are not too happy. There may be a few reasons for this.

  1. We are poor – college students generally do not care about fine dining. Perhaps especially in Morgantown West Virginia. I think many of us are perfectly satisfied with going to some run-down place on High Street, infested with who knows what, by some dude in a hair net and no gloves as long as it is under $6. That is just how it is. Thank you college.
  2. People know we are poor – Yes, the owners and servers know that for the most part we may go to these places not expecting the prices, so we may just order water and the cheapest thing on the menu, so they do not take us seriously. This leads to the poor service. Why waste their time on someone like us?
  3. The workers are students – When you go to a big city and non-college town, the servers are professional people put there to serve us with the best service possible. That is their job and that is what they want to do. Here, a majority of the workers are college students who have other things on their minds other than making sure Jazz has water with his calamari. They just don’t care.

So yes, college students in a college town may not get the best fine dining experience. I have found a place that is professional, elegant and impressive though. Sargasso Restaurant on 215 Don Knotts Blvd (traveling down University Avenue away from the University past the Waterfront Place Hotel and it is on your right. I think it is located just enough outside the college boundaries to keep the class and distance itself from the sleaze (don’t get me wrong I love the grunge and slime of downtown Mo-town, it’s just something about the character that you have to love).                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              Sargasso is open for lunch and dinner everyday and was voted as the #8 Restaurant in Morgantown on Urbanspoon. Some of the reviews here show some people who are not impressed with the stuck up college servers, but most like me, find it a very enjoyable experience.

I love the environment of the place. It is modern, foreign and tasteful. You certainly feel like you are there in style. This is why the dress is business casual. Most people there are dressed formally and nicely and it’s good to know that there are places to go like this and feel classy.

The food is made for us by Chef Simon Poulin. If there is one word to describe Poulin, it is enthusiastic. He really appears to love what he is doing. He is happiest when he is in the kitchen and making people happy. He started when he was 13 in Canada and went around working at fine restaurants with our neighbors to the north. But Poulin got tired of not only working in the cold climate but also needed something new and completely different. He went to the Caribbean island of Turks and Caicos, where his restaurant was chosen as the number 1 restaurant on the island.

Of course in my mind I find the prices expensive, but in reality they are not too bad. The cheapest appetizer is the $8 Corn Fritters and the most expensive is the $13 Lobster and Crab Thermidor. The least expensive main dinner course is the $19 Chicken or $19 Vegetarian Meatloaf and the most expensive is the $39 Filet Mignon. Lunch is more reasonable with most of the sandwich items around $10. Not bad.

One of the things Sargasso prides itself on is it’s award-winning wine selection. They have over 130 different wine varieties from over 15 different countries. This was the part that I liked. Yes, most of the wines were insanely expensive and very high-class for my wine for college budget, but I still just love looking at all of the wine hanging from the walls. I think my eyes turn into saucers actually. But, yes I found that very enjoyable.

Sargasso also is very well respected for it’s event parties. I attended Sargasso last summer for a wedding rehearsal dinner and it was beautiful. The staff was extremely accommodating and the place could not have been more pristine. The water walls are a glamorous effect and the food that they had around was delicious.

If you would like to try Sargasso Restaurant in Morgantown, I would suggest going to the Easter Buffet on Sunday April 24 from 11 am – 3 pm. Check out the menu for it here and call now to make reservations. It will be packed but it would be a great chance to try the food and get as much as you can eat. I love buffets.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sargasso – Class, Service and Atmosphere

  1. It’s great to hear that there is a place serving a variety of wines in Morgantown. While I haven’t done the leg work to find places with wine, I would be interested in learning what restaurants out there have substantial wine lists.

  2. kerigero says:

    I have never heard of this place before but it looks like it has such a cozy Italian atmosphere, especially the bar area. I fee like there are so many little ‘odd-ball’ restaurants in Morgantown that get over looked for bigger chain restaurants. I’d really like to try this place, maybe I will take you up on the Easter buffet…because honestly, who can pass up a good buffet??

  3. Yeah, I think I am also going to try the buffet. I feel like it has to be good if it is anything like the other food that I had there. The entire eating and bar area is so nice. I really love the environment and bar is just a cool place to be.

  4. capnwinters says:

    Why no direct quotes from the chef? And how did he end up here in Morgantown after cooking in a top ranked restaurant in the Caribbean? I want to know more about this mystery man after such a positive assessment of Sargasso. And was the food good? I saw prices but no assessment of its quality.

    • To be honest, the chef was extremely busy at the time that I went there and was in a rush with his kitchen duties. I kept asking if I could come back but it was clear to me that none of his times were going to work with mine. I did not find his quotes very useful and it really did work better to sum it up myself. I was also trying to stay away from a straight-up food review with the blog. I suppose I took the wrong approach to try to make it something other than just talking about my personal eating experience there. I found the food very good. The presentation was beautiful and I would love to go back.

  5. ewadd986 says:

    I definitely agree with those three points you made Andrea. I think that when I went to Richwood Grill they labeled me and my roommate as poor and tried to be as nice as possible to us without giving us that much attention. We didn’t have a college student as our server but we might as well had…

  6. I’ve never heard of this! Great find! It’s a bit pricy, but you guys are featuring fancy restaurants this week. What are some of the best dishes though? What type of food are they known for?

Leave a Reply

