Mediterranean Mountaineer

By Andrea Sauer

When I originally thought about what to do for our Ethnic Theme in Morgantown, I was not sure what to do. But then I thought about a less noticed type of food.  Mediterranean food is not only extremely tasty, but also extremely healthy. There are two main Mediterranean places to go in Morgantown. One has been here for nearly 10 years, one is fairly new. Mediterranean Market and Deli on High Street and Taziki’s Mediterranean Cafe in the Mountainlair.

Taziki's Mediterranean Cafe

Taziki’s in the Mountainlair has been there for less than 2 years and has been a huge success. They claim that their inspiration came from Greek Islands, markets and home cooking. Tazikis has 7 locations in Alabama, one in Arkansas and one in West Virginia (WVU of course).

The inspiration of Taziki’s came from Keith and Amy Richards when they went on vacation to Greece in 1998. They were so inspired by it that they decided to go back home to Birmingham, Alabama and start up their own business.

Taziki's Grilled Chicken Salad

The WVU location has been popular. There are a lot of reasons behind that.  It is the prime location for students in the student union and it also offers a meal plan menu. Students enjoy having that healthy option as well. They offer large salads, deli food, gyro’s and combo meals between $6 and $10.

With Taziki’s being good with the students in the area, one would think that another Mediterranean restaurant on High Street would be just as popular if not more popular, right? This not the case.

Mediterranean Market and Deli has been in business for 9 years in Morgantown. Owner Ahmet Abulabn admits that business is good, but primarily with townspeople and not with students.

They offer catering and appetizers, sandwiches, paninis, platters, wraps and an entire deli with homemade desserts and meats and cheeses to order.

Mediterrranean Market and Deli on High Street

 

Almost everything in the place is under $8.  Abulabn comes from Jerusalem, so the food is authentic.
 
The most popular food is the gyro and you get the best deal for your money in town. The place took a little time to be accepted in the community but with people coming in from New Jersey, New York and Washington D.C. it was soon embraced and is doing well around town.
 
For a place with even better prices and a bigger variety, I do highly recommend people go and give this place on High Street a try. It really is delicious and authentic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mediterranean Mountaineer

  1. rdlwvufan says:

    I’ve never tried Mediterranean food before, which is part of the reason why I’ve never been to Taziki’s. That, and I heard it was pretty expensive. It can be difficult to convince yourself to try something new when it’s not cheap. $6-$10 isn’t bad though. Maybe before I leave this place I’ll give it a go.

  2. kerigero says:

    I always walk by the place on High St. but I’ve never tried it..I love Taziki’s though (especially the tomato & basil sandwich YUM) so I’ll definitely have to try the one on High St. before we graduate!

  3. deepafadnis says:

    That is a great post. I love Mediterranean food and I am always looking out for new places to go. The way this post presents the stories of how these owners were inspired to start their food chains is very interesting. I always wonder about this point and you post just confirmed that there are great stories behind everything. I also pointed to point out that Ali Baba is also a great Mediterranean restaurant situated inside Morgantown airport and trust me the food is to die for!

  4. Keri, if you like tazikis, you should definitely try the one on High Street! I think you would like it a lot.

    Rodney, yeah Tazikis does seem more expensive than the dollar menu at BK, but it is all fresh and really good quality food. Give it a try before you leave!

  5. ewadd986 says:

    Yea the food is definitely pricey for the average student but it is a really good place to get a good gyro. The grilled chicken salad is also really good, give it a shot if you have a couple extra bucks and want some good Mediterranean food.

  6. I always had the impression that this place was really expensive… but I guess not, maybe I’ll give it a chance! The chicken salad pictured there looked incredible.
    Great post!

  7. CoreyCP says:

    I have had the pleasure to eat at both places and I must say each one is a little bit pricey but their food makes up for the cost. I love Taziki’s large portions and their food is literally made right in front of you instead of being frozen and warmed up in a strange microwave. Their hummus is bomb as well. As for Med Cafe, I have only had their Tuna Melt but even it is worth writing home about. Keep up the good work in regards to covering some of the lesser-known restaurants in Morgantown!

  8. lindsaycobb says:

    I’m stuck in rural West Virginia at the moment and this post made me soooo depressed. These places look delicious, and your post made me want Mediterranean cuisine so badly! When break is over I’m going to need to try Taziki’s. One gyro please!

  9. capnwinters says:

    I’ll say this: I do not recommend the chicken noodle soup from this place. It is not normal, it has oddly thin noodles like capellini, and just tastes a little off. I like their baked ziti though. It can really hit the spot when I don’t feel like fixing dinner. I dig the fact that you got a little bio on the Mediterranean Deli’s owner too, nice reporting

Leave a Reply

