Best Burrito Revisited

So this week I was supposed to do a review about one of my favorite Chinese buffets for our International week reviews.  But since there were so many responses to my last post about burritos, I decided to do a follow up.

Chico’s Fat is an “authentic Cali-Style Taqueria” located at 456 High Street here in Morgantown.  They’re open Monday-Saturday from 11a.m. to 11 p.m. and are closed on Sundays.  Offering more than just fat burritos, they are one of the most popular places for students and residents to grab a filling Mexican style meal in town.  Chico’s Fat also serves, tacos, quesadillas, tortas and more more a moderate price.

Picture of Chico's Fat inside from their website.

I recently spoke with the owner of Chico’s Fat about my blog post and how many people were so passionate about the comparison between his restaurant and Black Bear Burritos.  I proposed to him a promotional idea I had for our blog.  I asked if he would be willing to give readers of this blog $1 off their meal or a free drink if they mentioned our blog when they paid.  My pitch was that people reading the blog who wanted to try Chico’s Fat would be more likely to stop by their place and then come back here to tell us what they thought.  He agreed and then told me that he would give %10 percent off for our readers and that I could create a coupon to print off which you can get right here.  So thanks to them for doing that!

10% OFF AT CHICO’S FAT

While many people love Chico’s Fat another popular place which I compared them to was Black Bear Burritos. Black Bear is a much bigger restaurant and offer a wider variety of food and drinks as they also serve alcoholic beverages.  This is a real sit down restaurant versus the assembly line style of Chico’s Fat.  They do a cool thing where they give you a plastic toy when you pay as sort of a receipt and way for the waitress’ to know who ordered what food.  They serve a variety of appetizers, burittos, quesadillas, and a variety of sandwiches, even dessert.  It also boasts live music at least 3 times a week for free at 6:30, tonight’s performer is Josh Wanstreet.

Outside Black Bear Burittos, 132 Pleasant Street Mon-Sat 11:30am-10:00pm

I spoke with their owners and told them about our blog as well.  I told them about how I wanted to get more comments about the two restaurants but not make it into an actual competition.  I told them what Chico’s Fat was doing and asked if they wanted to do something similar but certainly not demanding.  The owner politely said he would have to speak with his business partner and would get back to me tomorrow.  Hopefully they will be willing our readers something as well.

Like I said, I’m not trying to make this into a promotional competition.  But I would like to get some more feedback on which place you feel serves the best burrito in Morgantown.  Both offer a lot more but I want to know which one has the best tasting burrito.  So if you have been to both places or plan on going out and trying these restaurants, take our poll and let us know what you think.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Best Burrito Revisited

  1. Wow! That is amazing that Chico’s agreed to do it! I wonder if they were surprised about the reactions to it. I hope Mountaineats can continue to do things like this. I think that will really make this blog more popular! We have to advertise the site and the coupons and deals that we get with places.

  2. CoreyCP says:

    Awesome idea with the coupon/promotion Eric! This is the kind of stuff we need to make this blog a bit more legitimate in the public’s eyes. I wonder if we could go to a lot of these restaurants around town and gain the same kind of positive response from the management. If anything, I will have to say that I like BlackBear over Chico’s just because of the overall food quality and the beers on tap…and I think Carmona’s beats them both!

  3. Pingback: What’s the Wordle? « Mountaineats

Leave a Reply

